Quality Standards
ISO 9001:2008
ISO 9001:2008 is an international standard related to quality management system, applicable to any organization from all types of business sector and activities.

ISO 9001:2008 is based on eight quality management principles (all fundamental to good business practice). When fully adopted, these principles can help improve your organizational performance:

  • Customer focus:organizations depends on their customers, and therefore need to shape activities around the fulfillment of market need
  • Leadership:is needed to provide unity of purpose and direction
  • Involvement of people:creates an environment where people become fully involved in achieving the organization’s objectives
  • Process approach:to achieve organizational objectives, resources and activities need to be managed as processes, with an understanding of how the outputs of one process affects the inputs of another
  • System approach to management:the effectiveness and efficiency of the organization depends on a systemized approach to work activities
  • Continual improvement:adopting this as a part of everyday culture is a key objective for an organization
  • Fact based decision-making:effective decisions are based on the logical and intuitive analysis of data and factual information
  • Mutually beneficial supplier relationships:such relationships will enhance the ability to create value.


  • Involves Top management in the improvement of the Quality management System Facilitates the organization to become a customer-focused organization.
  • Ensures sustained customer satisfaction by producing, delivering services and providing support functions that meet customer’s needs and expectations.
  • Increases the effectiveness and efficiency of the organization through continual improvement in systems and products /services quality.
EN 71- European Testing for Toys Safety
European standard EN 71 specifies safety requirements for toys. Compliance with the standard is legally required for all toys sold in the European Union.

The standard has been published in 13 parts. However, for the wooden toy items which are manufactured by Nam Hoa, the clients often require to apply testing for Part 1, 2, 3 only.

  • EN 71 Part 1: Mechanical & Physical Properties of Toys The purpose of this standard is to reduce risks associated with children’s toys. Specific tests are performed on toys based upon the type of toy it is and/or characteristics of the toy. Additionally, appropriate warning labels are addressed in this standard.
  • EN 71 Part 2: Flammability of Toys This portion determines the flammability of toys. It provides general requirements along with specific requirements for particular toys, which appear to be the most hazardous, this includes: toys to be worn on head (beards, moustaches, wigs, etc.), toy disguise costumes & intended to be worn by children in play, toys intended to be entered by a child, and soft filled toys.
  • EN 71 Part 3: Migration of Certain Elements This part involves determining the migration of the following elements: Antimony, Barium, Cadmium, Chromium, Lead, Mercury, and Selenium from accessible parts of toys. This applies to the following toy materials: coatings/ paints/ varnishes/ lacquers/ printing inks/ similar material, polymeric and similar materials, paper and paper board, textiles, glass/ceramic/metallic materials, other materials whether mass colored or not, materials intended to leave a trace,(i.e.pencils or liquid pens) and pliable modeling materials.
ASTM - American Society for Testing and Materials
ASTM International, formerly known as the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM), is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of international voluntary consensus standards, a trusted source for technical standards for materials, products, systems, and services known for their high technical quality and market relevance. Today, some 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance safety, facilitate market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.

ASTM International standards are the tools of customer satisfaction and competiveness for companies across a wide range of markets,. Through 143 technical standards-writing committees, ASTM serves diverse industries ranging from metals to construction, petroleum to consumer products, and many more.

In the arena of global commerce, ASTM International standards are the passports to a successful trading strategy. High quality, market-relevant ASTM standards, developed in accordance with the guiding principles of the World Trade Organization, fuel trade by opening new markets and creating new trading partners for enterprises everywhere.

As “children’s most intimate friends”, toys are quite important to children’s intellectual development and physical growth. However, toys with potential safety hazards could cause injuries or health problems to children. Therefore, many countries and regions have implemented strict safety standards for those products.

In 1971, the Japan Toy Association (JTA) established Toy Safety (ST) Standard and Safety Toy (ST) Mark Program to improve toy safety in Japan. This standard and program has contributed greatly to toy safety since then.

The ST Mark is given to toys that comply with the Toy Safety Standard, which has been regulated by the Japan Toy Association since 1971. The ST Mark is only approved for use with toys whose mechanical and physical characteristics, flammability, and chemical properties have undergone strict safety inspection. Toys carrying this mark have been created with the utmost care and consideration and are officially approved as safe for use.

The standard has been published in 3 parts:

  • ST 2012 Part 1: Safety aspects related to mechanical and physical properties
  • ST 2012 Part 2: Flammability
  • ST 2012 Part 3: Chemical Properties

The purpose of this Law is to prevent the occurrence of health hazards arising from human consumption of food, by making necessary regulations and taking any measure so as to work for the protection of the health of the people.

For wooden toys, products must perform the following test criteria:

  • Coloring matter
  • Heavy Metal on material (Section IV- Toy)
  • Phthalates (Section IV –Toy)
  • Formaldehyde (Section IV –Toy)

Safety requirements for children’s goods related to laws and ordinances are being further reinforced. Therefore, product designs, product quality guarantee, production and sales must meet all safety requirements and criteria to minimize any risk of accident or injury to children.

According to Korean government’s regulations, all of the children’s toys imported have suitable the Korea Product Safety (KPS). Under this standard, the heavy metal content especially lead content is the most important goal should be strictly controlled.